Local News

Five New Permanent secretaries Appointed by Governor Fintiri

By Zakariyya Aliyu Gwaram

Governor Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri of Adamawa State announced on Wednesday the appointment of five new permanent secretaries to address existing vacancies in the civil service. This decision follows the successful completion of a qualifying examination conducted by the Administrative Staff College of Nigeria (ASCON), in which 20 candidates from the state participated.

The newly appointed permanent secretaries are Mohammed Tukur from Fufore, Hassan Modibbo from Ganye, Mrs. Singana Dada from Gombi, Mohammed Auwal Ibrahim from Mubi South, and Ladi Baba Hamza from Mayobelwa.

In his remarks, Governor Fintiri emphasized that the examination process aligns with his administration’s policy to enhance service delivery within the civil service. He noted that this examination is the fifth in a series aimed at promoting qualified individuals to the role of permanent secretary, thus ensuring effectiveness and mitigating nepotism in these appointments.

Governor Fintiri reiterated his commitment to maintaining a non-interference stance throughout the promotion process. He urged civil servants to prioritize computer literacy, highlighting that a lack of such skills has been a significant factor in the failures of previous examinations.

State Head of Civil Service, Pharmacist Shehu Isa Ardo, explained that the supplementary qualifying examination was necessary because no candidates from the local government areas with existing vacancies passed in the previous sitting. He expressed gratitude to Governor Fintiri for ensuring a fair and transparent examination process.


About the author

Zakariyya Aliyu Gwaram

Official Website of NAS FM Yola 89.9.

Leave a Comment